Honors & Awards

Honors for 2021-22

Student Honors

Jessica Bravo, Master of Social Work student, is a recipient of the Equity and Inclusion Student Award from the National Association of Social Workers North Carolina Chapter.

Two UNC Charlotte counseling doctoral students have earned prestigious national fellowships for their work supporting the mental health and wellness of underserved minority communities. Brittany Glover was accepted to the National Board for Certified Counselors Minority Fellowship Program (NBCC MFP) and Meg Garcia was admitted to the American Psychological Association Interdisciplinary Minority Fellowship Program (APA IMFP).

Christina Slotkowski, architecture graduate student, was awarded first prize in the Architectural Humanities Research Association’s Re-imagining the Artefact student competition.

Alumni Honors

John Cato '73 UNC Charlotte Distinguished Service Award

Ray Curry '03 Elected President of UAW International
Audrey Ipapo Baran ’03, dance alumna and visiting assistant professor of dance, won the Joffrey Academy of Dance’s 12th annual Winning Works Choreographic Competition.
Haley McNeill Association of Teacher Educators 2021 First Year Teacher of the Year
Estella Patterson '96 becomes Raleigh Police Chief
Larry Ogunjobi represents the Charlotte 49ers in the Super Bowl
Ali Petrauskas '16 North Carolina Art Educators Association Rookie Teacher of the Year
Karen Popp '80 & Joe Price '83 receive honorary Doctor of Public Service degrees
Brenda Tindal '04 becomes Executive Director of Harvard Museums of Science and Culture
Destiny Wilson ’21 received Queen City Nerve’s Best in the Nest award
Donta L. Wilson ’97 was appointed to serve as the lead of retail community banking and marketing at Truist Financial.
Six alumni were recognized as 2020 and 2021 recipients of the 49er Alumni Campus Employee Network (ACE) Award.

Ten outstanding young alumni were recognized at the 10 Under Ten Awards sponsored by the Young Alumni Chapter.

Fifteen alumni were recognized for their service to the University as recipients of the 2020 and 2021 Alumni Awards.

Faculty/Staff Honors

Brittany Anderson, assistant professor of urban education, received the National Science Foundation’s Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award.

Mary Layton “Mel” Atkinson, associate professor of political science and public administration, was selected for the 2022-23 American Political Science Association Congressional Fellowship.

David Boyd, assistant professor of Japanese, won the Japan-United States Friendship Commission Prize for the Translation of Japanese Literature, presented by the Donald Keene Center of Japanese Culture at Columbia University.

Kimberly Buch, professor of psychological science, received Campus Compact’s Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award.

Mark Wilson, professor of history, was chosen as a 2022 Andrew Carnegie Fellow.

Brad Yeckley, assistant director for financial literacy, was named Excellence In Financial Literacy Education (EIFLE) 2021 Educator of the Year.

Awards and Rankings

American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) Excellence and Innovation Award (2021)

Forbes “America’s Best Mid-Sized Employer” (2022)

Military Friendly School Gold Award (2022-23)

First-gen Forward Designation Center for First-generation Student Success

U.S. Department of Energy’s Waves to Water Competition Second Place Team

Frank Murray Leadership Recognition  Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation

University Rankings

U.S. News & World Report

Top Performer on Social Mobility

Most Innovative Schools

Best Online Rankings

In U.S. Online Bachelor’s Programs

Best Graduate Programs rankings

Programs in the top 100

Program Rankings


Master of Public Administration. (local government management) (U.S. News & World Report)


Online Master of Education (U.S. News & World Report)


Master of Science in Mathematical Finance (TFE Times)

Charlotte 49ers Athletics

  • 94

    All C-USA Selections

  • 6

    Participating in NCAA Tournaments

  • 96

    C-USA Commissioner's Academic Medal

  • 5

    C-USA Championships

  • 312

    C-USA Commissioner's Honor Roll