Search committee announced for the next provost of UNC Charlotte

Fall on the UNC Charlotte campus
Thursday, September 16, 2021

Dear Niner Nation,

I am writing to announce the formation of a search committee to assist in the selection of the next provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs for UNC Charlotte. I want to once again thank Provost Joan Lorden for her distinguished service to our campus and community. During her tenure, Joan has had a remarkable impact that cannot be overstated or adequately captured. Her intention to step down after June 2022 gives the search committee ample time to recruit and recommend high quality, visionary candidates for consideration as our next provost.

I have asked Catrine Tudor-Locke, Dean of the College of Health and Human Services, and Robert Keynton, Dean of The William States Lee College of Engineering, to chair the search committee, a diverse and accomplished group of faculty, staff and students who are passionate about UNC Charlotte’s mission and values. The full membership of the committee is as follows:

  • Catrine Tudor-Locke, Dean of the College of Health and Human Services
  • Robert Keynton, Dean of The William States Lee College of Engineering
  • Jen Ames Stewart, Interim Associate Vice Chancellor for University Communications; Associate Dean for Graduate and Executive Programs and Clinical Professor of Marketing
  • Dick Beekman, Student Body President
  • Anne Brown, Associate Vice Chancellor for Finance
  • Michael Carlin, Vice Chancellor for OneIT and Chief Information Officer
  • John Daniels, Professor and Chair of the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department
  • Jose Gamez, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs and Professor of Architecture and Urban Design
  • Katherine Hall-Hertel, Associate Dean for Graduate Academics and Student Affairs
  • Susan Harden, Faculty Council President; Associate Professor of Education and Director for the Civic Minor in Urban Youth and Communities and the Charlotte Community Scholars undergraduate research program
  • Yvette Huet, Professor of Applied Physiology, Health and Clinical Sciences and Director of the ADVANCE Faculty Affairs and Diversity Office
  • Claire Kirby, Associate Provost of Enrollment Management
  • Janaka Lewis, Associate Professor of English and Director of the Center for the Study of the New South
  • Taufiquar Khan, Professor of Mathematics and Chair of the Mathematics and Statistics Department
  • Michelle Meggs, Executive Director of the Women + Girls Research Alliance
  • Fatma Mili, Dean of the College of Computing and Informatics
  • Natasha Randle, Director of the Belk Scholars and Business Honors Programs and Clinical Professor
  • Dawn Schmitz, Associate Dean for Special Collections & University Archives
  • Lisa Slattery Walker, Professor and Associate Dean for Graduation and Advising
  • Dylan Turner, President of the Graduate & Professional Student Government

The committee will begin its work in September and will be assisted by Parker Executive Search. We anticipate having a new provost in place for the start of the next academic year. We will keep you informed through Niner Insider as the process unfolds and will post information on the Academic Affairs website.

Sharon L. Gaber
Sharon L. Gaber